Murals Trail

Architecture & Sculpture
Artists at Large
The Coal Trial
Gothenburg Arts & Crafts
Poetry & Writing
Art Workshop & Classes
Buriss Bursary 3 Harbours Arts Festival 2006
Shop Online
Publishing Online
Barga Twin
News & Brushstrokes

Site News

Murals Fest 2009 Strides Forward .. and the Cows Approve

Tom Ewing's Visit to Tasmania pays dividends

Tom Ewing, who has been responsible since the initiation of the annual Murals Fest in Cuthill Park three years ago, travelled to Sheffield Tasmania in 2008 for the Global Murals Conference there - and competed in that town's Murals Fest. And he, with Jan Holden, saw what they have achieved with their Fest over the past six years. So they resolved to incorporate several of those ideas from downunder and move our own programme aheadhere in the Pans.

Six artists were short listed along with two youngsters. And with the support of the Bowling Club [i.e. using their walls] the new works completed at the 2009 Fest will be on display until June 2010.

Coal was the chosen focus, using Poet Laureate's Black Gold as its theme

The 2009 theme for the murals was coal in support of the Community Council's campaign to raise funds for a Miners' Statue at Top Pans. The Laureate's particular verse singled out for the competition has already been painted on the wall next to the six artworks as completed.

There was a little rain this year but Pat Fox, Jan Holden and Tom Ewing had improvised rain covers so that work could continue throughout.

The fine results placed first and second can be seen discretely above. The winner was Michael Jessing from Peebles via New York [Miners drilling]; Runner up was Fiona Robb from Musselburgh [Miners' portraits]; and Paul Dalrymple from Edinburgh was third [Miner's hand].

The other artists were Paul Steer from Joppa [Miner with cone]; Adele Roberston and her son James from Port Seton [Big wheels]; and David Grigor from Tranent [Miners clasping hands.] We also had youngsters' murals from Julia Murphy of Port Seton and Georgina Tait of Prestonpans.

The judges were Andrew Crummy, John Lindsay and Lady Avril Prestoungrange.

click to enlarge the pictures

Published Date: July 8th 2009

Back Back to top